top of page

Printmaking? Etching? Handmade Prints?!

Updated: Sep 28, 2019

Printmaking is cool and so very versatile! In our modern-day world, manual printing presses have been replaced by digital printers and large commercial installations. However, the charm, the touch and the smell of a handmade print is unparalleled! There is magic happening in the moment when your lift the paper and look at the print you just pulled through the press.


Peter Van Ginkel
Etching Press

Forgotten Techniques or witchcraft?

When people visit me in the Atelier, they first look around and take in the atmosphere. Then, inevitably, the moment comes when they get curious as to how an etching or a screen print comes to live. This is where it gets interesting, or complicated. ;-)

There are so many ways to make your mark on the plates, one needs a lifetime to explore them all. And although the basic processes are repetitive, I find it hard to successfully explain the processes just with words.

So this is the reason I started this blog and my Instagram account. I will show images and video of the processes I use to make my prints. Hopefully this will give you an insight in how diverse and fun printmaking is and perhaps will inspire you to give it a go! My atelier doors are open for you!

Follow me here on my website blog or on

To see what my atelier looks like: https://www.cc-kunst.com


5 views0 comments
    bottom of page